Image Alt

Accreditation Standards Review

The Planning Accreditation Board (PAB) is reviewing the accreditation standards for planning degree programs. A comprehensive review and development of standards occurs approximately every five years, as specified in PAB’s Policies and Procedures Manual.

A special-purpose task force composed of representatives from ACSPAICP and PAB was formed to assist with the review and revision of the 2017 accreditation standards. The Accreditation Standards Review task force is gathering recommendations and suggested improvements to the standards to assist with the development of draft 1 of the PAB standards. From October – December 2020, the task force conducted 6 public forums via Zoom to solicit input from stakeholders. The task force also conducted an online survey from February 9 through March 12, 2021.

Draft 1 of the Standards will be developed and released in spring 2021. PAB is committed to ensuring all stakeholders are involved in the accreditation review and revision process, therefore, our process includes two 30-day public comment periods. Greater details on the timeline will be shared soon.

PAB Accreditation Standards Review Task Force Members

Edward G. Goetz, Ph.D.
PAB Board Member, Task Force Chair
Professor
University of Minnesota
egoetz@umn.edu

Berneece Herbert, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair
Jackson State University
Berneece.herbert@jsums.edu

Rolf Pendall, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
rpendall@illinois.edu

Carlos M. Rodrigues, FAICP
Principal
Design Solutions
carlos@rodriguesurbandesign.com

David Salazar, FAICP
PAB Board Member
Founder and Executive Director
Long Beach Community Design
dsplanner@hotmail.com

Linda F. Tatum, FAICP
Assistant City Manager
City of Long Beach
linda.tatum@longbeach.gov

Dawn Terkla, Ph.D.
PAB Board Member
Associate Provost, Tufts University
Dawn.terkla@tufts.edu

Mitch Thrower, CPA
PAB Board Member
Senior Manager
Hillsborough County Aviation Authority
throweriv@aol.com

Stacey Swearingen White, Ph.D.
Professor and Director
University of Kansas
sswhite@ku.edu